Studio Album, 1999

4/1999, Columbia/Sony Music

 Tags: Electronic Duo, with Band


Number four of the album charts, most successful album in the history of the band, and precursor of a sold-out tour.

Despite all superlatives of this debut with a major label, “Kasmodiah” contains songs that certainly do not fit into the scheme of a hit-album. The ironic „Lass mich (Dein Lakai sein)“, almost improvised by Alexander Veljanov, „Fight“ with its extreme breaks, or the cynic „Overpaid“ form a strong contrast to the introverted ballades. The work matured for a long time due to the especially long preparation time and the formative lyrics of Alexander Veljanov, before the offers of the record companies were considered with the production ready at hand. Another novelty was the active involvement of the long-standing live musicians Christian Komorowski and Michael Popp in the studio recordings.

The German living legend, Deine Lakaien return out of the blue with a new album entitled "Kasmodiah".... They packed all their strongest assets in their little bag, locked themselves in their studio and wrote us their best album ever! ... This is a killer album featuring Alexander Veljanov at the top of his form, with his typical and so characteristic moving vocals, his unique way of expressing his lyrics ... Ernst Horn managed once again to compose the perfect tunes for Alexander's emotions and both elements immediately enter in perfect symbiosis...

SideLine, Belgium

Their best album so far

Orkus (translation from German)

Very rarely one could experience the band with such an intensive emotional depth, mature with almost hymn-like compositions, and coherent with regard to the atmosphere of an album. Several wave-pop pearls fascinate immediately while listening the first time. - ALBUM OF THE MONTH

Dirk Hoffman, Zillo (tranlsation from German)

External links (more info)

Track list

  • Intro
  • Return
  • Kiss the Future
  • My Shadows
  • Into my Arms
  • Overpaid
  • Venus Man
  • The Game
  • Kasmodiah
  • Lass mich
  • Sometimes
  • Fight
  • Try
  • Venus Man, Alternative Version (Bonus track, Special Edition)

Discography - "Kasmodiah" Studio Album (1999)